The Monastery of Agia Triada (Holy Trinity) or Tzagarolon Monastery in Chania
The Monastery of Agia Triada (Holy Trinity) or Tzagarolon Monastery is one of the most important historical monuments of Crete.
The two brother monks Lavrentios and Ieremias, from the great Venetocretan Tzagarolos family with great influence on the local Orthodox and Catholic communities, built the monastery.
Ieremias inspired by the great 16th-century Veronese architect Sebastiano Serlio, designed the new church in 1611 but died before it was completed. So his brother Lavrentios continued his work until 1645, when the Turks invaded Crete. The Turks called it Selvili Manastir, which means “Monastery of the Cypresses” - presumably because of the cypresses surrounding it.
In 1821, at the Greek Revolution the monks in the monastery were forced to leave behind all the historical documents and manuscripts, which were burnt by the Turks.
After the end of the Greek Revolution, the Monastery of Agia Triada was re-established and the building has been completed. In the meantime, the monastery had acquired a large heritage and extended its activity to Asia Minor.
Today the Monastery has a huge influence in education, supporting schools and an important role in the local economy and ecclesiastical life of Crete.
Enjoy our unique Easter offer to experience the most important event in the Greek Orthodox church, the miracle of Easter, in this historical monastery of the 16th century, the Holy Monastery of Agia Triada of Jagarolon only 10 min away from the villa by car.